allen_janeingram_sitka-spruce-forest-2014 sitka-spruce-forest-detail

This summer I will teach a Workshop in Papermaking and Mixed Media Art at Sitka Center for Art & Ecology on July 24 and 25, 2017. Sitka Center is located on the central Oregon coast in Otis, Oregon, and offers classes and residencies for artists in a variety of media.  My class titled “Sitka Spruce Papermaking and Mixed Media Art” will focus on the beautiful and majestic Sitka Spruce trees that are unique to Pacific Coast forests and abundant around the Sitka Center. We will use bark from fallen trees for making handmade paper and incorporate other aspects of the tree in mixed media works. For more information and to register, see the website at http://www.sitkacenter.org
You may also want contact me by email for more details at info@janeingramallen.com
Hope to see you at the Sitka workshop this July 24 and 25.

The artwork shown here is an installation I made as an artist in residence from Oct. 2014 to Jan. 2015 at Sitka Center for Art & Ecology.  I used Sitka Spruce bark and Sitka Sedge leaves for the handmade paper and dried my paper on the bark of living Sitka Spruce trees to get the embossed bark pattern.  I made 7 “trees”, and each is about 15 – 18 feet tall.  This installation can be suspended from the ceiling in many different configurations.