Jane and blue bucket

Last September I spent two wonderful weeks at Fire Island National Seashore as an artist in residence. Fire Island Naitonal Seashore is so near NYC yet so far away. You can only get there by ferry, and after Labor Day there are not even many people. It was good for working, and I really enjoyed making handmade paper for my artwork using the local beach grass and other plants found there.

_MG_40571

The accommodations are great, and the scenery couldn’t be better. I highly recommend this residency, and the deadline for applications is February 5! Contact me by email if you want more information. Here is the link to the application and information about the Fire Island National Seashore artist in residency program.

http://www.nps.gov/fiis/getinvolved/supportyourpark/artist-in-residence.htm

