Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

You are all invited to come visit me at Fire Island National Seashore this Saturday, Sept. 19, 11AM to 4 PM for a Papermaking Demonstration and public activities.Fire_Island-NY-USA-Location_Map-01

The program is free and open to all. To get here, take the ferry (www.davisparkferry.com) from Patchogue, NY to Watch Hill on Fire Island.  At the Watch Hill Ferry station and the Watch Hill Visitor Center, ask for directions to the Watch Hill Dune Station where you can see my papermaking art going on Saturday from 11 – 4 PM.

I am an artist in residence at Fire Island National Seashore from Sept. 15 – 19, and I am creating new artworks inspired by this beautiful place using local natural materials to make handmade paper. I have already made some paper for my work from local beach grass and Phragmites, and today I am trying some seaweed collected on the beach.

Jane and blue bucket

Hope to see you at the public program on Saturday, Sept. 12, 11AM to 4PM at the Watch Hill Dune Station, Watch Hill Visitor Center, Fire Island, NY. If you want to come visit on any other days before Sept. 19, you are also welcome.  Please contact me by email at info@janeingramallen.com

This photo is some pieces of handmade paper created with sand casting…the pulp is from beach grass and sand of course collected on the beach at Watch Hill.

sand dune paper

Keep checking this Blog for more photos of the residency at Fire Island National Seashore.  Photos are by my husband Timothy S. Allen, who is enjoying Fire Island with me at this residency.

